• Length: 297km

  • Duration: 20 days

  • Grade: 3

  • Style: One Way

  • Start: Varies

  • End: Varies

  • Closest Town: Varies

  • Location: Victoria's West

  • Distance from state capital: Varies

  • State: VIC

  • Latitude: -37.3479678500

  • Longitude: 144.1371434900

Trail Access

Click Edit to add Condition

Select items to indicate conditions for access to the trail.

Bitumen Road

Gravel Road

Easy Access

Steep Road

Winding Road

Vehicle Ford

Speed Bumps

2WD Vehicle

4WD Vehicle

Entry Fee

Ample Parking

Accessible Parking

Wheelchair Toilet

Toilet Facilities

Camping Available

Drinking Water

Picnic Shelter

Picnic Table

BBQ Facilities

Fire Pit

Trail Features

Click Edit to add Condition

Select items to indicate features found along the trail.

Concrete Path

Timber Boardwalk

Gravel Path

Sandy Trail

Rough Trail

No Defined Trail

Manual Wheelchair

Motorised Wheelchair

Prams and Strollers

Bike Friendly

Overnight Campsites

River Crossings

Rock Scrambling

Bush Bashing

Exposed Ledges

Trail Markers

Drinking Water

Fishing Spots

Swimming Spots

Dog Friendly

You must be registered and logged in to edit icons. Your activity will be recorded for administrative purposes.


The Great Dividing Trail is a hiking and mountain-biking track through the historical Goldfields region of Victoria to the north-west and west of Melbourne. The trail passes along the southern most parts of Australia’s Great Dividing Range. The main section, known as the Goldfields Track, runs from Bendigo to Buninyong, and is divided into the Wallaby Track, Dry Diggings Track and Leanganook Track. A separate leg, the Lerderderg Track, branches from Daylesford to Bacchus Marsh.

The trail was primarily intended for hiking, but has proven attractive to mountain bikers, and is being further developed for that purpose.

As the tracks pass through populated areas, they are suitable for day walks. In total, there are 280 kilometres of walking track. The tracks are overseen by the Great Dividing Trail Association, a non-profit, incorporated organisation.

The four sections are as follows

Lerderderg Track (87 km)
This track runs from Bacchus Marsh to Daylesford or vice versa, through Lerderderg State Park, via Mt Blackwood and the township of Blackwood.

Wallaby Track (88 km)
Formerly known as Federation Track, it runs from Buninyong, via Ballarat, Creswick and Mollongghip to Daylesford.[2]

Dry Diggings Track (62 km)
The first section to be implemented, it runs from Castlemaine to Daylesford, via Fryerstown, Vaughan Springs and Hepburn Springs.

Leanganook Track (60 km)
This section runs from Castlemaine to Bendigo.

There is no particular order in which sections should be completed, and each can be done independently. In addition, each section has several entry points, meaning many different combinations are possible.

Reference: Great Dividing Trail Association